The Original A5 Filofax* – A Review (Part 1)

Now isn’t that colour gorgeous! I was lucky enough to receive a Patent Purple A5 Original* from Filofax and Jess and Natasha from The Ideas Network. Now this is my first A5 Filofax, and it’s something that I really wanted to try out! I know what I’m going to use it for. It’s too big to be my everyday diary – I’ll be sticking to my personal Finsbury for that – but it’s perfect for a staying at home planning Filofax. I am going to post another ‘review’ on my set up and what I’m using it for, so look out for that in the coming week!

I decided on the purple because I needed a little colour! I’m not a fan of fluorescent colours, so those were out! I very nearly decided on the green, but the purple was just calling my name! I love the feel of this leather. It is so soft, and despite this one being patent leather, it doesn’t feel ‘plasticky’ at all! It just feels lovely! The leather is such a thick cut too, and it being just one layer adds so much to the Filofax. It just feels simple and minimalistic! It lay flat upon first opening it, and it is so soft that when you hold it up by the middle, the sides will just hang down!

So this filofax landed on my doorstop a mere two days after being told that I would be receiving it! I really didn’t expect it to arrive so quickly, but strangely I had been daydreaming about it that morning when I woke up… I had a nice little message inside, and it was wrapped in this blue tissue paper.

The protective cover is plastic, and is designed so you can actually see the Filofax without having to take it out of the box!

The Patent Purple is glossy, but not so much that I don’t like it! I usually prefer more matt looking things, but I really love this. It is super shiny in sunlight, and was difficult to photograph in some places! Here it doesn’t look so shiny, but you can tell on the strap!

Opening up, you can see that the inside doesn’t have many card slots, and the pen loop is on the front of the Filofax. A lot of people aren’t really liking this, and I can see that it would be a little strange, being right handed, but it doesn’t bother me too much! The big elastic is a little too tight for my phone – I’m worried about trying to stretch it too much! I think I’ll probably use this for sticky notes or something though! There’s a big pocket and that will be useful for loose sheets!

The back also has a full length pocket, and has a notepad slot. I’m not sure how much use I’ll get out of that, as I often forget things in the back!

This Filofax came with a 2014 WO2P diary, but the days are vertical! I’ve never had one like this before, so that could be interesting. I also received a July-December 2013 diary too in the back, so I can use it from next week!

I got a lot of different types of notepaper… Plain, lined, graphed and lots of coloured pieces! I will do pen tests on these in my next post! I also got To-Do pages and Contacts pages.

And finally, an A5 plastic wallet! I did plan to stick this in one of my sections, but it’s quite wide and covers the divider tabs! I will have to leave it at the bag! It will be very useful though!

First impressions – I really like it! It’s not too heavy (yet!) and I just can’t stop touching it… I can’t wait to fully set it up (which will probably happen Sunday evening) and then I will get the next review part up in the week!

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment


  • I am 21 years old, currently studying Wildlife and Media at University and blogging about life, stationery, Filofax, fitness and more.

  • TITLE TITLE TITLE TITLE Follow on Bloglovin

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Philofaxy
  • bookbridgr.com
  • Goodreads

  • Archives