Book Review: A Girl By Any Other Name

image– M.K. Schiller

Everyone tells him he needs to move on, but how can a man function without his heart?

Caleb is 10 years old when he first meets Sylvie, and doesn’t want anything to do with her. She’s weird, and gets him into trouble. At 12 years old they become friends, and by 14 he’s in love. At 16 years old, she dies. However, Caleb doesn’t believe it, thus story focuses on his struggle to find information on her disappearance.

In the present, it has been 9 years since Sylvie’s disappearance and Caleb is a college instructor. The story is told from his perspective, and the time shifts between the past and the present. I thought this worked really well, and I really enjoyed getting glimpses of Caleb and Sylvia’s childhood and seeing their relationship evolve.

Now I really enjoyed this book at the beginning – it had me hooked almost immediately. In the present, I actually found Caleb to be quite annoying, and far too clingy! That really did put me off. He was fine in the first half, but I definitely felt like I could connect more with the young Caleb. Sylvie was more of a mystery – something was strange about her as a child, but Caleb never found out what. This all becomes clear in the second half of the book.

Overall, I did enjoy this book. The characters did annoy me a little towards the end, but it didn’t ruin the story for me.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Books in April | lifeofkitty

Leave a Reply

  • I am 21 years old, currently studying Wildlife and Media at University and blogging about life, stationery, Filofax, fitness and more.

  • TITLE TITLE TITLE TITLE Follow on Bloglovin

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Philofaxy
  • bookbridgr.com
  • Goodreads

  • Archives

