Book Review: The Baby’s Coming*

image– Virginia Howes

Well, I don’t need to say it again do I? I love these kinds of books. Now one about a midwife is right up my street! Virginia Howes became a midwife quite late really, compared to the usual. After working with the NHS for a few years, she decided that she wanted to go independent. Now to me, her vision of birth seems a lot better. Who wouldn’t want a nice relaxing birth at home?! I’ve never really thought about it much, but I do know that I love the idea of having a water birth! Anyway, let’s get back to the present – I’m definitely not getting pregnant soon!

This book tells us about Virginia’s life, her journey to becoming a midwife and working independently. There are so many stories; some nice and calm, some very dramatic! As I’ve said before, I do like to read little anecdotes like this. Obviously I can’t relate to being pregnant or giving birth, but you feel like you know what’s going on. The writing just immerses you in.

The chapters in this book are actually quite long for this type of book. It was more like the length of a regular story. I liked this, but it also meant that I couldn’t just have a quick read – I can’t be the only one who hates to leave a story in the middle of a chapter right? This did however make me sit down for longer.

I can’t really say much more! If you love to read about real life and babies, this book is for you!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Books in March | lifeofkitty

Leave a Reply

  • I am 21 years old, currently studying Wildlife and Media at University and blogging about life, stationery, Filofax, fitness and more.

  • TITLE TITLE TITLE TITLE Follow on Bloglovin

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Philofaxy
  • bookbridgr.com
  • Goodreads

  • Archives

