Home comforts.

Living away from home at University is great. You’re finally independent, you experience new things and it just makes you grow as a person. However, sometimes, you just want to be at home. It’s hard to make a university town feel like home when you’re missing half of your belongings and you don’t have any family near! I love Carlisle and I’d quite happily stay there – if the rest of my family came up to join me! I’ve been at home since Monday, and will be heading back to Carlisle tomorrow. It has been nice to just spend time with my boyfriend and the rest of my family, despite how little time I’ve had!

My mum had left these flowers in my room for when I got back – how lovely!

I do miss Charlie when I’m away.

I miss having an actual bookshelf in my room when I’m in Carlisle… The green book is one I re-discovered yesterday and contains writing ideas/prompts. Will definitely be looking to it for ideas.

Today I went into town with my mum, and we had a nice little walk around the park. It’s finally beginning to feel like spring. I saw my first bumblebee of 2014!

Anyone else get a little homesick at university? How do you cope with being away from home?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I never lived away from home when I went to university because I knew I’d miss home so much. It’s lovely that you’re documenting all of the little home comforts 🙂 Glad you had a fun time back home.

    Reply
    • I’m fine for the most part, but I’ve just really not been enjoying this last module that I’ve been doing and doing the assignment was getting me down! Had a lovely time back home though – was definitely needed!

      Reply
  2. I’ve definitely gotten homesick at times and all I’ve wanted to do is go home and see everyone. However, a good chat on the phone or a catch up with friends usually solve things :]

    Reply
    • Oh definitely! I always feel better when my mum/boyfriend has rang me :3

      Reply
      • Yesssss! I think the hardest thing is when I’m sick….All I want to do is go home so I can have someone look after me! Haha. That happened in the last week. I almoooost went home but I was just too tired to drive the three hours needed to get there >.<

      • Oh god yeah – I’m actually sick now and I just want sympathy off my parents XD

Leave a Reply

  • I am 21 years old, currently studying Wildlife and Media at University and blogging about life, stationery, Filofax, fitness and more.

  • TITLE TITLE TITLE TITLE Follow on Bloglovin

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Philofaxy
  • bookbridgr.com
  • Goodreads

  • Archives

