[TAG] Rainbow Spines Books

So last month I discovered the tag ‘Rainbow Spines’ on another blog. I believe it was started on youtube by ArrictineReads. Video here. It was originally a video tag, but I’ve seen quite a few blog posts about it and wanted to have a go! Now I haven’t actually been ‘tagged’ or anything, and I’m not sure about how it works exactly but here are my books!

I have a mixture – didn’t love them all. I seem to have misplaced some books because I couldn’t find very many colours!

The Catcher in the Rye – J. D. Salinger
Now this is a classic, but I didn’t read it in school! I’ve seen that a lot of people just didn’t really like this book, and whilst I wasn’t completely in love, I did enjoy it! I think it’s something that everyone should try to read at least once! (Read April 2011)

One Day – David Nicholls
I loved this book! I like how it is written, showing the same two people on the same day every year to sort of give an insight to how they’re living. As the story spans 20 years, the one day snapshot makes the story move more quickly than the average book! This book made me laugh and cry. I think the best thing about it is that it’s not the same old love story – it isn’t all happy. Also, I think the film was pretty good! (Read April 2011)

Never Let Me Go – Kazuo Ishiguro
This is a bit of a weird one. Children are brought up in a sheltered lifestyle, being told they were special, when in fact there’s something being kept from them. Again, I didn’t love this one, but I did like it. It’s just not something I would read over and over again. To be honest, I can’t remember exactly how I felt when reading this book (December 2011), so I can’t say too much! (I have no more yellow books!)

The Aye Aye and I – Gerald Durrell
Now this is a different one, and it’s not something that I imagine many people have heard of or would read. This book tells the story of Gerald Durrell searching for the Aye Aye in the Madagascan forests, in order to help it. His descriptions are wonderful, and you feel like you can picture everything that is happening to him. This is sort of a travel book, mixed with conservation information. Not everyone will appreciate it, but I loved it! (Read November 2012)

A Storm of Swords – George R. R. Martin
Oh, these books! Each of these books took me three weeks to read, and that felt like forever! At first I found it so difficult to keep up with all the different characters and the different places, but once you get it, everything falls into place. Some characters I loved, some I hated. I’m sure you have heard about George R. R. Martin, and his knack for just killing off big characters in one sentence or so… There are some shocking moments in these books! And with all that, the TV show is brilliant! Would definitely recommend reading all these books if you watch the show… And even if you don’t! (Read May 2012)

The Memory Keeper’s Daughter – Kim Edwards
So this is one that I have to admit that I didn’t finish… The synopsis makes it sound really interesting, but I just couldn’t get into it! I still have the bookmark in, and I made it to about a quarter of the way in. I am going to try this again.

The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold
I think I quite liked this book when I first read it (January 2010! Again, no more purples/violet!). Looking at reviews, not many people did. I remember enjoying it, as much as you can enjoy a book with this type of storyline… It was interesting, and it had me hooked until the end. The film? That was terrible…

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Great list of books! Not a fan of the Lovely Bones though, didn’t enjoy the film though so I’m basing on that.. which is bad to do I know! And I haven’t read Catcher in the Rye yet but it’s on my reading list. I have so many books I need to read at the moment! x

    Reply
  2. I LOVED Lovely Bones. I saw the movie first & liked that, so I decided to read the book which was even better. I didn’t like how some pivotal events were omitted in the movie, but I thought they got the general mood right.

    Reply
    • Yeah. I wasn’t a fan of the film because of all the weird effects – kind of ruined it for me!

      Reply
      • I have to agree with you there. It should have had way less weird-heaven stuff & more of the plot.

Leave a Reply

  • I am 21 years old, currently studying Wildlife and Media at University and blogging about life, stationery, Filofax, fitness and more.

  • TITLE TITLE TITLE TITLE Follow on Bloglovin

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Philofaxy
  • bookbridgr.com
  • Goodreads

  • Archives

